Cannot Create Database Project with Team Edition for Database Professionals 2005

27Mar08

Quite recently I was asked to create a prototype using Team Edition for Database Professionals 2005 (Data Dude) and after installing the software, I tried creating a new database project. Imagine my surprise when I got the message:

An error has occurred while establishing a connection to the server. When connecting to SQL Server 2005, this failure may be caused by the fact that under the default settings SQL Server does not allow remote connections. (provider: SQL Network Interfaces, error: 26 - Error Locating Server/Instance Specified

I did what most people would have done then and cursed.

After the cursing was done, the next thing I did was to google this error and seeing that it was a fairly generic one, I had no success. The next thing I did was to refine the search by adding TFS and Data Dude-specific search parameters.

During this time I did what other might have done:
Changed the Data Connections database to localhost\instance
Changed the Design-time Validation Database to localhost\instance

Of course that failed. I was at my wits end when I finally looked at the error carefully and then looked carefully at the label for the database settings in Visual Studio. It then struck me that it was asking for an Instance, not the database and instance.

After changing the Database Connections and Design-time Validation Database to just my instance, everything magically worked.

I’m posting this mainly in the hope that others who might encounter the same problem might find a solution. It sure made me feel foolish but it’s best that my lesson benefit others as well. I hope that someone out there might find this helpful.

5 Responses to “Cannot Create Database Project with Team Edition for Database Professionals 2005”

  1. 1 Harry Nath

    Thanks! This was really helpful. As you say, the error message is too generic to be useful. I couldn’t believe that it was as simple as a couple of option settings. Thanks, again.

  2. 2 Eric

    Can you be more specific as to the meaning of the phrase “After changing the Database Connections and Design-time Validation Database to just my instance…”

    I am suffering from this killer problem too, and I’ve hit the brick wall.

  3. 3 alvinyong

    Hi Eric,

    What I’m referring to are the settings in Visual Studio 2005 to select your database instance and your validation database instance. You can find them by doing:

    1. Click Tools > Options
    2. Navigate to Database Tools
    3. Look for the nodes called Database Connections and Design-time Validation Database

    That’s basically what I was referring to.

    HTH!

  4. 4 alvinyong

    Sorry Eric, I just realised that I might not have answered your question. To be exact, the two nodes which I directed you to should have entries to allow you to enter a database instance. Instead of using something like: localhost\instance, just use instance.

    If you read the label of those textboxes carefully (which I obviously didn’t), you’ll see that they just require the instance name, not the server and instance.

    Cheers
    Alvin

  5. 5 Solveig

    Thank you! I’ve been trying to figure out this problem for a while now. The fact that the error refers to server\instance is misleading.


Leave a Reply

