ASP.NET MVC First Impressions

01Oct08

I’ve recently started playing around with ASP.NET MVC. I was quite impressed by Scott Hanselman’s presentation at Tech Ed 2008 Australia. Some nuggets I gleaned from his presentation were the great way you clearly separated your responsibilities of each layer, the intrinsic testability of the business logic, the mocking frameworks that could support this testing and the dependency injection you could use.

After going through the initial installation and educating myself on how ASP.NET MVC works, I started building my first application with some excellent guidance from the MVC Storefront tutorials from Rob Conery. The tutorial series is simply excellent and I greatly enjoyed the videos I’ve watched so far. It’s added a lot to my working knowledge of implementing ASP.NET MVC applications.

One of the main things that leaps up right at you after you finally get to building your views (I was actually able to almost totally build my domain model before touching the UI) was that while it was possible to use WebForms user controls, the preferred way was to build stuff in HTML with HTML helper extensions. This was where my weakness in writing HTML and javascript was made very evident. While it took me quite a while to come to grips with this new way of development, I came to realise that the basics of building web applications will never change. You will always need to have good knowledge of HTML and javascript.

Having said that, I’m totally consumed with discovering what ASP.NET MVC offers. I’ve literally only seen the tip of the iceberg. I’m excited to start using dependency injection and expanding my knowledge of mocking (TypeMock is my mocking framework of choice). There’s also a lot to learn regarding javascript, JSON and AJAX.

Many thanks to ScottGu, Rob Conery, Phil Haack, Scott Hanselman and any others who have posted material to further people’s knowledge on using ASP.NET MVC.

2 Responses to “ASP.NET MVC First Impressions”

  1. Any idea which DI container you are going to experiment with? I’ve been working with StructureMap so far and I quite like it. The fluent configuration is very nice (no nasty xml!)

  2. 2 alvinyong

    I’ve got one in mind. I’ve done a bit of research with Castle Windsor containers as it offers data persistence and AOP! That’s something which I’m keen to explore. I’ve had a read of Ayende’s blog and in there he has an introduction into using some of the EntLib aspects and he hints that there is room for extension.

    I’ve read about StructureMap and I can appreciate that one of the main selling points is that it is a lightweight container. I’m keen to hear your reviews on it.


Leave a Reply

